The Plaza Mabini which is strategically located within the
Poblacion is one of the two man-made parks in Batangas City. The Plaza which
is dedicated to the Filipino people has a double lifesize bust statue of
Apolinario Mabini which stands prominently at the center, was first conducted
in 1951 and redesigned in 1964. The design of the park garnered the first prize
award in the National Beautification Project Contest in 1969 for its landscaping
and overall aesthetic urban form. Plaza Mabini was renovated thru the funds
granted to the city government by the Philippine Tourism Authority 1993. The
two water fountains were revived and the landscaping was improved. Benches for
the existing stage were installed. A gazeebo and public restrooms were constructed
in one corner of the Plaza.
Laurel Park is another man-made park situated at the Provincial Capitol Site in
Barangay Kumintang Ibaba. The park boasts of a Multi-Purpose Center which can
be either use as basketball court and a volleyball court and a dormitory for
a seminar and meeting venues.
A sculpture work entitled "Diwa ng Batangeuno" done in bronze/steel by the
renowned sculpture, Ed Castrillo portrays the vitues of the Batanguenos such
as nobility, industriousness, beauty and wisdom can be found also in the
Directly fronting the Plaza Mabini is the Basilica of Immaculada Conception built
from 1851-1857, its façade and interior is a stunning model of early
Rennaissance architecture. On February 13, 1946, by a decree of the Holy Father,
Pope Pious XII, the church was elevated to the "Basilica Minor" of the Infant
Jesus and Immaculada Concepcion and was the first basilica to be vested that
honor and priveledge in the Philippines and in the entire Far East. Through the
efforts of the Sto. Nino Pastoral Foundation, a religious organization, the
Batangas Church Museum was established with honor of the late Msgr. Clemente
Yatco. Precious relics and century old books and statues can be found in the said museum.
Other historical landmarks include in Batangas National High School (Circa 1902),
St. Brigits College (Circa 1912), Provincial Capitol (Circa 1926) and the
Batangas Regional Hospital (Circa 1928).
The city has several undeveloped beaches that can
potentially accommodate the leisure needs of local folks and the prospective
tourists. At present, only the A&V Tatlonghari Beasch Resort in Brgy. Cuta
offers one pavillon that can accommodate 250 persons for a seminar workshop,
30 gazeebos, 20 picnic tables, 2 swimming pools, 6 cottages goo for 4 persons
each and 3 rooms good for 6 persons each. Mahabang Buhangin Beach,
which is still undeveloped located in Isla Verde about two-hour travel by boat
from Sta. Clar, offers an alternative destination for nature lovers. The city
has 2 waterfalls, the Tingga and Ilijan Falls which flow year round in a
beautiful pastoral setting. Just like the other potential resorts in the city,
these fail to attract tourists because these places have not yet been developed.
Additionally, the slopes of Mt. Banoy and Matoco Point provide a panoramic
view of the city and the Batangas Bay respectively.